Dog & Bro

ten

Dog & Bro

I only ever see things through my right eye. My brother has control of the left. In fact, he has control of the entire left side of our body. I’ve known about him since birth, but I can’t be sure that he knows about me. We can’t communicate because he suffers from aphasia, at least, he doesn’t respond to me when I talk to him. Whether he knows about me or not, we get along just about fine, one stepping forward then the other, or simultaneously swinging our open palms at each other in celebration of something witnessed. Sometimes we butt heads, metaphorically of course, as our face contorts, one half smiling in joy and the other scrunching up in disgust or sadness, that draws a few looks when we do that. Other times one of us may want to sit and the other stand at the same time and we end up sprawling across the floor, much to the amusement of my friends. I think they like me anyway, maybe they like my brother, and don’t know its me they talk to. Anyway, despite our difficulties, we manage to get by.

My name’s Dog by the way. My brother doesn’t have a name, because he hasn’t ever really lived. Our parents seem relatively normal. Each has a job and loves us immensely. I couldn’t swear to it, but I doubt either of them have a silent brother or sister living with them, in control of half of their body. Perhaps their siblings actually speak to them, so they work together all the time so that they don’t end up looking like a pair of idiots tripping themself up.

I kissed a girl once. I don’t know that my brother joined in the kiss, but he did grab her boob. She looked sore at that and slapped me. I tried saying it wasn’t me but she was having none of it. She said she was only up for a peck, and even then it was only a dare. She said my lolling eyes were stupid and I should see a doctor. I hadn’t thought about that. I don’t have a clue where my brother is looking. He could be pulling faces all the time, making me look like a fool.

I’ve decided to attach a full length mirror to my front, so that I can keep my eye on him. Sure it looks a little weird, but at least I don’t have to worry about what my brother is doing on the other side of our body.

427

Leave a Reply Ya Schmuck

